Close This Window
Print This Window

$34,000 Presented to FFA Members During Annual Awards Banquet
April 29, 2011

C-T Photo / Amanda McKay

CAPTION: Among the most prestigious awards distributed at last night's annual FFA Banquet and Awards Ceremony were the Litton Awards. Pictured at front, from left: Michaela Mammen, Litton Livestock Award; Lauren Dietzschold, Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarship; Micheala Simmer, Litton Livestock Award; Back, from left: Bonnie Mitchell, Stephen Cook, Rusty and Karie Black Litton Award; John Davis, Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarship; Ed Turner and Karie Black.

The activities and accomplishments of Chillicothe FFA members were highlighted during the 2011 Chillicothe FFA awards banquet and ceremony at Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center last night.
Approximately $34,200 in awards and scholarships were presented to FFA members during the awards ceremony and three community supporters received Honorary FFA memberships.

The top awards of the evening - the Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarships - were presented to John Davis in the amount of $5,000 and to Lauren Dietzschold in the amount of $3,000.

The Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarship was started by Mr. and Mrs. Charley Litton in 1979 in memory of their son, Jerry, and is sponsored each year by the Jerry Litton Memorial Family Foundation. The award is presented to a graduating senior who shows evidence of strong leadership potential as demonstrated in FFA, school, and community activities and plans to continue his or her formal education. Foundation vice president Ed Turner presented the awards.

The Jackie Skipper Memorial Scholarship was presented to Kelton Diggs in the amount of $500. The award was introduced three years ago in memory of Jackie Skipper, who died in December 2008 shortly after her 29th birthday. Skipper was a community supporter of FFA and was a member of the organization while in high school. The award is to given annually to a graduating senior in the FFA chapter who shows evidence of strong leadership potential as demonstrated in FFA, school, exhibiting livestock and community activities, and plans to continue his or her formal education.

Another scholarship that is in its third year was the BTC Bank Leadership Award to be presented annually to a senior FFA member. Winners are selected on their four-year performance in leadership and service to FFA, school and community. This award is a trophy and a $400 check. The award was presented to Carrie Boon.

Four FFA members were awarded the Jerry Litton Memorial Leadership Award. Recipients are Haley Thompson, Lynzie Colvin, Jennifer Waits and Devinn Ashford. The Jerry Litton Memorial Leadership Awards are sponsored by Chillicothe Youth Agri-Leaders, Trans Ova Genetics, American Family Insurance (Janet McCauslin Agent), United Country Graham Agency (Dan R. Graham, Broker), Chillicothe FFA Alumni and Josh Quinn Memorial sponsored by DQ Precision Planting and Tillage (George and Marta Quinn). Each recipient receives $660 to pay the expenses to the Washington, D.C., Leadership Conference. The winners' names will be engraved on a plaque, and they will represent the chapter at a week-long leadership conference in Washington, D.C., during the summer.

Dani Moore won the Missouri Alumni Washington Leadership Conference Scholarship.

The Rusty and Karie Black Litton Award was presented to Stephen Cook. This award in the amount of $500 is presented to a graduating senior in the Chillicothe Chapter in honor of Rusty and Karie Black.
The recipient must show evidence of strong leadership potential as demonstrated in FFA, school and community activities. The FFA member receiving this award has exhibited dedication to the Chillicothe FFA Chapter throughout his or her four years of membership.

Litton Livestock Awards were presented to Michaela Mammen, Swine, Michaela Simmer, Sheep and Evinne Bowman, Beef. This award is given to students who keep livestock at the Litton Agri-Science Learning Center as a component of their SAE project. Winners are selected by their ability to care and manage their livestock along with work ethic, responsibility and showing. The award consists of $75 and is sponsored by the Jerry Litton Memorial Family Foundation.

Three community members were inducted as honorary members in the Chillicothe FFA during the annual banquet. Honorary membership is given to farmers, school superintendents, principals, members of boards of education, chapter advisers, teachers, staff members in ag education and the FFA who have rendered outstanding service by a majority vote of the members present at any regular meeting or convention. This year's inductees are Andy McDaniel, Bret and Darla Davis, and Copeland Construction.

New this year was the Dorothy E. Boon Holms Scholarship in the amount of $300 given to a 2011 senior in the memory of Dorothy E. Boon Holms, longtime FFA supporter. The award was presented to Cheyenne Bannan.

Two $5,000 AFA scholarships were presented to seniors who are outgoing Chillicothe FFA members. Agricultural Future of America was begun by the Kemper Foundation to encourage young people to go into an agricultural or related career. The local community must raise $2,500 for each scholarship and the Kemper Foundation matches this amount. The student must also agree to attend the AFA Convention held in the Fall in Kansas City, Mo. This year's winners were John Davis and Cassie Reid.

It was also announced that Cassie Reid was awarded an additional $1,000 National FFA scholarship.

As in previous years, Thursday's FFA Banquet attracted a large crowd of FFA members and community supporters. The evening began with a meal served to in the Chillicothe High School Commons.

Return to Top

Close This Window
Print This Window