Close This Window
Print This Window

More Than $35,000 Presented to FFA Members During Annual Banquet
05/01/12 CT

C-T Photo / Drew Van Dyke

CAPTION: More than $35,000 in awards and scholarships were handed out at the 2012 FFA Banquet Monday night at Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center. Much of that came from the Litton Awards. Pictured back row, left to right were the awards' sponsors: Karie and Rusty Black, Eric Turner - vice president of the Litton Foundation - and Bonnie Mitchell, also of the Litton Foundation. Front row, from left, are Litton Award winners: Cody Kannianen, Jennifer Waits, Haley Thompson, Lara Hopper and Trevor Long.

The activities and accomplishments of Chillicothe FFA members were highlighted during the 2012 Chillicothe FFA awards banquet and ceremony at Gary Dickinson Performing Arts Center last night. Approximately $35,550 in awards and scholarships were presented to FFA members during the awards ceremony, and several community supporters received Honorary FFA memberships.

The top awards of the evening - the Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarships - were presented to Haley Thompson in the amount of $5,000 and to Jennifer Waits in the amount of $3,000.

The Jerry Litton Memorial Scholarship was started by Mr. and Mrs. Charley Litton in 1979 in memory of their son, Jerry, and is sponsored each year by the Jerry Litton Memorial Family Foundation. The award is presented to a graduating senior who shows evidence of strong leadership potential as demonstrated in FFA, school and community activities and plans to continue his or her formal education. Foundation vice president Eric Turner presented the awards.

Two $5,000 AFA scholarships were presented to seniors who are outgoing Chillicothe FFA members. Agricultural Future of America was begun by the Kemper Foundation to encourage young people to go into an agricultural or related career. The local community must raise $2,500 for each scholarship and the Kemper Foundation matches this amount. The student must also agree to attend the AFA Convention held in the Fall in Kansas City, Mo. This year's winners were Justin Lewis and Gabe Jeffries.

The Jackie Skipper Memorial Scholarship was presented to Tanner Thompson in the amount of $500. The award was introduced four years ago in memory of Jackie Skipper who died in December 2008 shortly after her 29th birthday. Skipper was a community supporter of FFA and was a member of the organization while in high school. The award is to given annually to a graduating senior in the FFA chapter who shows evidence of strong leadership potential as demonstrated in FFA, school, exhibiting livestock and community activities, and plans to continue his or her formal education.

Another scholarship in its fourth year was the BTC Bank Leadership Award presented annually to a senior FFA member. Winners are selected on their four-year performance in leadership and service to FFA, school and community. This award is a trophy and a $400 check. The award was presented to Dani Moore.

Four FFA members were presented the Jerry Litton Memorial Leadership Award. Recipients are Tanner Jones, Lizzie McCoy, Bridgett Kieffer and Blake Rasmussen.

The Jerry Litton Memorial Leadership Awards are sponsored by Chillicothe Youth Agri-Leaders, Trans Ova Genetics, American Family Insurance (Janet McCauslin Agent), United Country Graham Agency (Dan R. Graham, Broker), Chillicothe FFA Alumni and Josh Quinn Memorial sponsored by DQ Precision Planting and Tillage (George and Marta Quinn and Doug and Barb Doughty). Each recipient receives $700 to pay the expenses to the Washington, D.C., Leadership Conference. The winners' names will be engraved on a plaque and they will represent the chapter at a week-long leadership conference in Washington, D.C., during the summer. Cyrsten Lollar won the Missouri Alumni Washington Leadership Conference Scholarship.

The Litton Foundation presented a $500 award to Lara Hopper, graduating senior in the Chillicothe Chapter, in honor of Rusty and Karie Black. The recipient must show evidence of strong leadership potential as demonstrated in FFA, school and community activities. The FFA member receiving this award has exhibited dedication to the Chillicothe FFA Chapter throughout his or her four years of membership.

Litton Livestock Awards were presented to Dallas Boyd, goats, Cody Kannianen, swine, Hannah Boon, sheep, and Trevor Long, beef. This award is given to students who keep livestock at the Litton Agri-Science Learning Center as a component of their SAE project. Winners are selected by their ability to care and manage their livestock along with work ethic, responsibility and showing. The award consists of $75 and is sponsored by the Jerry Litton Memorial Family Foundation.

Several community members were inducted as honorary members in the Chillicothe FFA during the annual banquet. Honorary membership is given to farmers, school superintendents, principals, members of boards of education, chapter advisers, teachers, staff members in ag education and the FFA who have rendered outstanding service by a majority vote of the members present at any regular meeting or convention. This year's inductees are Woody's, Bob and Berta Peters, Brian Thompson and John and Cindy Williams.

The Chillicothe FFA Chapter presented $300 scholarships to senior FFA members who are planning to attend a college or vocational school majoring in agriculture. Students chosen this year include: Clark Allen, Lynzie Colvin, Justin Jones, Kelsey Jones, Cherokee Lawson, Justin Lewis, Jake McKiddy, Hope Peters, Mindi Prindle, Michaela Simmer, and Guy Vinson. These students have also completed four units of Ag Education and is based on leadership in FFA, grades in agriculture classes and other school services, and need for additional funds.

As in previous years, Monday's FFA Banquet attracted a large crowd of FFA members and community supporters. The evening began with a meal served to in the Chillicothe High School commons.

View the CT photo gallery here...

View complete banquet program...

Return to Top

Close This Window
Print This Window